PATRIOT Act extension passes the House

After suffering a bit of a black eye last week after a failed vote on renewing expiring provisions of the USA PATRIOT Act, a law that undermines the Bill of Rights and has led to abuse of civil liberties as federal authorities routinely violated provisions of the legislation, Republicans brought the measure back to the floor yesterday and were able to pass it with relative ease:

The House on Monday voted to reauthorize and extend through Dec. 8 three ways in which Congress expanded the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s counterterrorism powers after the terrorist attacks of Sept. 11, 2001.

Last week, an effort to extend these provisions of the so-called Patriot Act and a related intelligence law failed to pass after falling just short of the two-thirds’ majority needed under a special rule. On Monday, however, the bill was able to pass with only a simple majority — and it did so, 275 to 144.
Sixty-five Democrats voted for it, including Representative C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger of Maryland, the ranking Democrat on the Intelligence Committee, who argued that he thought it would be better to go even further and extend the provisions through 2013 — as the Obama administration wants to do.

And 27 Republicans voted against it, including Representative Dana Rohrabacher, Republican of California, who said the American people had “a legitimate fear of out-of-control prosecutors and out-of-control spy networks.”

You can see the roll call vote here.

In case you’re wondering, here is a list of Republicans that backed up their campaign rhetoric on defending the Constitution with votes against the PATRIOT Act.

  • Justin Amash (R-MI)
  • Roscoe Bartlett (R-MD)
  • Rob Bishop (R-UT)
  • Paul Broun (R-GA)
  • Tom Campbell (R-CA)
  • John Duncan (R-TN)
  • Michael Fitzpatrick (R-PA)
  • Chris Gibson (R-NY)
  • Tom Graves (R-GA)
  • Richard Hanna (R-NY)
  • Dean Heller (R-NV)
  • Randy Hultgren (R-IL)
  • Timothy Johnson (R-IL)
  • Walter Jones (R-NC)
  • Jack Kingston (R-GA)
  • Raul Labrador (R-ID)
  • Connie Mack (R-FL)
  • Kenny Marchant (R-TX)
  • Tom McClintock (R-CA)
  • Ron Paul (R-TX)
  • Denny Rehberg (R-MT)
  • Phil Roe (R-TN)
  • Dana Rohrabacher (R-CA)
  • Bobby Schilling (R-IL)
  • David Schweikert (R-AZ)
  • Rob Woodall (R-GA)
  • Don Young (R-AK)

The views and opinions expressed by individual authors are not necessarily those of other authors, advertisers, developers or editors at United Liberty.